Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Confused about Photo Editing options.
Question 

I am new to digital photography. I have recently bought a Nikon DSLR, and a Windows 10 laptop. I would like to plug a memory card into the card reader, load a single image into the editing software, then either e-mail the edited result to someone, or save it somewhere. Elements seems as if it could be a good option as it offers 3 levels of ability. I am told that most of my local Camera club use Lightroom, though exactly what it does remains a mystery to me! Furthermore, most of the literature suggests that you need both of them! Also, on previous threads on this subject, people have talked about having half a dozen different applications. And then there is the confusing pricing structure...
Can anyone suggest a single software application which will do what I require, without being obliged to accept expensive updates every year.

(Mar 26, 2016, 15:13)Tom Forrest Wrote:  I am new to digital photography. I have recently bought a Nikon DSLR, and a Windows 10 laptop. I would like to plug a memory card into the card reader, load a single image into the editing software, then either e-mail the edited result to someone, or save it somewhere. Elements seems as if it could be a good option as it offers 3 levels of ability. I am told that most of my local Camera club use Lightroom, though exactly what it does remains a mystery to me! Furthermore, most of the literature suggests that you need both of them! Also, on previous threads on this subject, people have talked about having half a dozen different applications. And then there is the confusing pricing structure...
Can anyone suggest a single software application which will do what I require, without being obliged to accept expensive updates every year.

Hello Tom.