Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Hello from an absolute beginner!

As the title says, i have just bought a Nikon d3100, not even got my hands on it yet.
Just reading the on-line manual, and wonder what the hell i've done.
Bit of a step up from my Olympus U700 compact, but I like a challenge!
Expect a lot of newbie questions soon.

Cheers,

Steve (In sunny Northamptonshire, UK)

Hello and Welcome to shuttertalk SteveF. That is the best thing and recommended is to read your manual. Smile Get to know your gear (which is my mistake along time ago) Smile

PhotoPlay Photography
What we are is God's gift to us. What we become is our gift to God.
~Eleanor Powell

Hi Steve. What made you choose the D3100 rather than stay with Olympus? What is the rest of the kit?

Hi Dean
The Olympus is a compact, great for holiday snaps etc. But we are moving onto a narrowboat, and the opportunity to take good photo's of wildlife etc. is the driving factor. And i need another hobby (Don't tell the wife!)

Steve

Olympus do a nice DSLR. Narrowboat sounds good. I lived at Braunston in the 80/90s. You’ll be wanting a long lens for wildlife. What have you in mind.

The one i decided on is second hand, 2000 operations and comes with 18-55 and 55-300mm lens.
Just got to learn how to uise them now!

Steve - hello and welcome to the site! It is pleasure to meet you and have you as a member! Make yourself at home here!

Barbara - Life is what you make of it!

Thanks for the welcome!

(Aug 27, 2013, 02:59)Steve F Wrote:  The one i decided on is second hand, 2000 operations and comes with 18-55 and 55-300mm lens.
Just got to learn how to uise them now!
The 2 lenses gives you plenty of scope.

Hi Steve, im a newby as well, i also have a d3100 and its absolutely brilliant, with in the first week i braved it and put it into manual. if i get stuck or (in my case cant remember) lol i switch to guide and follow the instructionsSmile its simples....