Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

I am a newbie

Hi everyone I am a newbie to Shuttertalk. I recently purchased a Fujifilm SL1000 camera, with a 50x zoom, having been interested in photography for sometime. Most of my photographs were taken on the old 35m film cameras, which I found did not produce the photo I required. Now I am into digital photography! I would like any advice available,as at the moment I am shooting using Auto settings. Thanks in advance.

(Jan 30, 2014, 04:39)mantone Wrote:  
Hi everyone I am a newbie to Shuttertalk. I recently purchased a Fujifilm SL1000 camera, with a 50x zoom, having been interested in photography for sometime. Most of my photographs were taken on the old 35m film cameras, which I found did not produce the photo I required. Now I am into digital photography! I would like any advice available,as at the moment I am shooting using Auto settings. Thanks in advance.

There are a wide range of books that are a great way to find the best way to take images. As you have some experience try Digital Photography Masterclass by Tom Ang or one of the more beginners books if you feel this is too advanced at the moment. Camera clubs can also be good.

Happy shooting

Mike

You can view a few of my images including some actions shots at

http://www.art-seekers.com

Thanks for the response Mike, much appreciated.

Welcome!
One of the best ways to learn is practice, practice, practice! And the other easy way to try and figure things out is to take a picture on auto...look at the settings and then turn to Manual, Aperture Priority, or Shutter Priority and try and get the same settings. It will quickly show you what changing f-stops and shutter speed and ISO will do. If you have questions then send out a question to the group. We are glad to help. Have a great day and get clicking!

Sharon.

Life is good. Capture it!

Hello and welcome to the photography forums! Nice to have you here on site with us!