Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Introduction

Hi:
I am very new to photography.

I have a Nikon D5200 DSR. I am trying to import (I think this is the word) some photos from a Nikon View NX2 Program to the Lightroom Program.

I will plead ignorance, I have no clue how to do it. Please Help me. My pictures at the present time are horrible.

Evelyn, LightRoom can be very daunting at the start, and it takes time to come to grips with it, but once you do, it is magic! Being an older person and not comfortable with the digital world, I was recommended to the LightRoom Manual by Steve Kelby (I like a hard-copy manual to work from rather than my PC monitor) and found it terrifically helpful. On top of that, there are excellent LR tutorials on the net (e.g. Laura Shoe, Serge Ramelli). Don't give up! If you have a problem (such as your importing) Google the question and there's always an answer. I wish I could give you some quick help about your specific importing problem - someone else out there with the same camera as you might be able to help? With LR - if you haven't already come to grips with its filing/storing approach - get that sorted before anything. Otherwise you'll get into a total mess like I did at the start! LR doesn't store the whole image, only your amendments, so if you move the original photo in your hard drive, the link with LR breaks and it can't find your original photo. I'm breaking out in a rash just thinking what chaos I caused myself way back! Best wishes taming LR - I promise you'll be so glad you persisted.

Thank you very much for your assistance and encouragement. I will pursue your suggestions. Yes frustration can set in with all of this techie stuff. Evelyn

Evelyn

Welcome to the forums! Nice to meet you!

Barbara - Life is what you make of it!

Evelyn, a warm welcome to this super Forum.