Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

guitar picks?

Would someone be able to tell me what the difference is between using different guitar picks (thin, medium, thick etc). Is it a personal prefrence thing or does it have an affect on the sound produced?

At the moment I use Fender thin guitar picks

Since light travels faster than sound,
people appear bright until you hear them speak.

Just an observation - when I use a soft pick on my accoustic, I find it harder to play as the pick bends more. I've since switched to a medium thickness and my accuracy (hitting the right strings) has improved... it's also easier to play louder. Big Grin

Just my $0.02 worth - I'm no expert...

^^ I noticed that as well when picking with the thin pics i really have to 'dig' the string to get a loud sound from it.

Maybe i'll get me some medium pics!!

Yes I have found the same thing. Light picks do nothing for me, so I only use medium to heavy picks.

You can always choose to pick gently with heavier picks, but you can only pick so hard with light ones before you shred your pick and fingers...

I once read in a Tommy Emmanuel interview that he uses the heavy picks, and he even went as far as to say if you have light ones, throw them away and switch to heavy ones!

God has placed me on earth to accomplish certain things.
Right now, I am so far behind that I will never die.

hrm...... thing is i bought a box of 12 Fender thin picks

*thinks to himself* "maybe if i glue two thins together i'll get a medium pick..........?"

Put the thin picks up as a giveaway in the next Shuttertalk competition... Then go and buy some real picks you girly man, hahahaa.... Big Grin

hahah!
When playing electric guitar, I always use Jazz III, I'd say they are versatile can use for soloing, strumming, very nice to use.