Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Creative Nature

I have eight days to come come up with four images for a "Creative Nature" photo contest at my club. I'm not even sure what 'creative nature' is. I'm in absolutely no danger of winning anything, but I'm new to the club, and want to make a good impression.

So far I have one photo. One. If nobody minds, I'd like to use this thread to explore some ideas. I have very little experience with nature photography, so I could REALLY use the feedback -- about anything.

I'm not even sure what I think of the single photo I have. I've never done anything like it before. Any thoughts?

[Image: ir-grass-0407.jpg]

"Grass and a Deep Blue Sky"

matthewpiers.com • @matthewpiers | robertsonphoto.blogspot.com | @thewsreviews • thewsreviews.com

hi

uuhmm this monitor of my...is terrible i only see black not dark blue!! anyway

why not crop closer to the curve branch, as like this the branches are pointing to the right and there is nothing there.

maybe something like this....sorry for copying ur shot...but it has a lot of potencial

[Image: ir-grass-0407%20copy.jpg]

reagards

christian

I like it the way it is...

The negative space is used really well and the eyes are really drawn to the grass and can spend time exploring the patterns as nothing else is there to distract.
My only issue with it is the few blades of grass out of focus across the front of the image.

A great image...well done! Big Grin

Muzza

"The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer." -Anonymous

I too like the use of negative space in the original shot, the cropped shot is far too cramped.

I like both versions but my vote goes to the original. Maybe be careful of the title you choose. Sometimes best without one. When I first saw your project title "Creative Nature" I thought of a past challenge called "Patterns in Nature". Hope that little tidbit sheds some light. Smile